Job Hunting: Should you press your Natural tresses?

So I have the daunting task of searching for a new job. Anybody that has been in this position knows that this can be nerve racking! The idea of waking up each day and checking your inbox to see if anyone has gotten back to you. Or applying for hundreds of jobs that you think you may qualify for but not one of those companies gives you a callback. The process can lead you to drink. Seriously.

 

When I started, I was faced with a number of questions: How will they react to my hair? Should I straighten it? Push it back with a headband? Do I wear a wig? Will my hair affect me not getting this position? Will I catch them looking at my hair? And YES! All of these questions flew through my head at the same damn time.

I quickly pushed all of these thoughts out of my head because:

1. I LOVE my hair.

2: Theres no way Im going to apply heat to my hair everyday especially when Ive been on a no heat strike since July.

3. I dont have any extra money to buy a wig- not a good one anyway! Lol

4. My resume speaks for itself. If I can be passed over for a position because of my hair then I wasnt meant to work for that company anyway. (Cocky much? I guess. Lol)

In other words, the answer to all of my questions: I dont care. No. No. No. I dont care. I dont care. Lol

 

Let me hear from you! Any others have reservations about how their natural hair affects their professional appearance? I wanna know! 

 

Not at all close to what my mini Fro looks like but just as a reference... lol

Not at all close to what my mini Fro looks like but just as a reference… lol

3 thoughts on “Job Hunting: Should you press your Natural tresses?

  1. Personally I’m not for this social contradiction towards kinky hair as being messy ,but other hair types are fine. The ignorance is real. I never put any heat to my hair so for interviews I bun it, braid it, or bantu twist out it ,but I absolutly refuse to let society tell me that my type of hair is considered not “professional”. They can kiss my …..curls. lol

  2. This thought has crossed my mind. It was totally ok to be natural when I lived in D.C. but when returning to Pa I was a little unsure. I probably would go with a braided or slicked bun but I would not straighten my hair specifically for an interview as long as it’s neat and professional it shouldn’t matter.

Leave a Reply

