I Am Not My Hair

I stopped taking care of my hair somewhere between my last day of high school and my first semester in college.
Once I got out on my own, I started putting glue in it, sewing it up, dying it (myself) and I never slept with a scarf!

The real damage came after I gave birth to my son five years ago. At that point i didnt care about my hair at all. I never took the time to nurture and make it grow. I wore sew in after sew in- after sew in. And pretty much covered up the fact that my hair was damaged tremendously underneath all the three bundles of Indian Remy.

20131221-004610.jpg

In August of this year, I had finally had enough. My crown had completely stopped growing and my edges were non existent. So I literally woke up on morning and said to myself ‘Ive had enough. Its time.’ I got off work and drove straight to the Hair Cuttery (big mistake) because it was the only place I knew that I could get it all chopped off really cheap and quickly.

I went in with a completely different picture in mind than I walked out of there with. The experience was horrible and I literally cried while sitting in the chair. My mind was racing, my palms were sweaty and I felt like I had made the biggest mistake in the world. Afterwards, I immediately got up and walked to the closest liquor store to buy the biggest bottle of wine that I could find.

The reactions that I received later on that night from my friends were varied- which did NOT help me at all. And I spent the night trying my hardest to figure out what to do with my hair and the answer was– NOT a DAMN THING because I had chopped it all off!

I woke up the next morning and the first thing I did was look in the mirror. It was at that time that I realized the shape of my eyes and the pronounced curve of my jawline and I literally said to myself ‘Im beautiful.’ That morning at Wawa (while I got coffee) I received a total of three compliments (I counted) and when I arrived to work everyone had something nice to say about my new cut. It was extremely nice and and ego boost.

Long story short– I am in love with my hair! Every kink, curl and frizz! I have taken a newfound liking to trying out different products and figuring out what works for me and my hair! Its new to me to actually enjoy taking care of it. Im free from perms and I have decided that Im going heat-free until I reach the length that I want to achieve- even if it takes me years.

20131221-010610.jpg

Leave a Reply

